Tea Time Painting

The canvas is 4’4.5″ x 7’3.5″ and fills most of one wall in our dining room.

I bought this homemade giant canvas for ten dollars from a friend who moved to New Zealand about eight years ago or more. It is seriously sturdy.

He had painted two circles, one green, one orange, for a project of some kind he never finished. When I got it, I regessoed it, expecting to paint a map of the Martian surface as observed by Percival Lowell. I tossed that idea and in favor of painting a version of this classic kraken image. I lost my excitement for that too.

Image

Then after visiting the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum here in Boston, I realized I needed to completely change direction. The house had some wonderful large scale art of simple, elegant subjects. Huge paintings of ships getting the once-over by giant squids wasn’t me. What was me?

Tea time.

I decided to base a painting on a photograph I took of a high tea we enjoyed during a visit to Wales a few years ago. I sanded down the squid and gessoed yet again.

Image

Leave a Reply

